More Running And More Lefty Gripper Training


Just getting some “bank” workouts in.  Like “money in the bank” – for lack of a better term. 

Have been sticking to the nose-breathing runs and am pretty happy with the way I feel when they’re done.  Not too happy when I’m running because I feel like I’m not getting quite enough air for at least half the run.  Usually the last half if I’ve chosen my starting pace right. 

Started Sunday off by running an easy mile.  Nose-breathed the entire time.  Didn’t do any stretching beforehand and if I had it to do over I would definitely include 5 minutes of easy ballistic and static stretches.  Also worked 12 hours but was in a sedentary post and that even made a big negative difference in my run.  Just didn’t feel “in the groove” at any time during my run.  And I didn’t push the pace at any point except for the last 1/4 mile I did a little.  It felt like a run that was 90 seconds per mile faster than what it turned out to be.  Very interesting how the body can react to not being stretched or warmed up. 

Did a pretty decent TNS workout lefty this morning.  Got 17 singles with my new 130lb rated #2.5.  My buddy Jordan Rechsteiner sent me that recently and it is a superb lefty no set training gripper.  I’m way beyond that level when I’m “ON” – but I have so much other training going on lately that my left hasn’t been anywhere close to being nearly as strong as my peak. 

What are you doing to get fitter?  Faster?  Stronger?  Better? 

About bencrush

38-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas. A new addition to my training interest is the Highland Games. Had my first contest in July of 2010 and was hooked from the first throw. Armwrestling has now gotten my attention in a good way - I have some strong armwrestler friends who gave me a taste of it on 5-14-11 after the KC Qualifier II grip contest.
This entry was posted in Grip Strength, Grippers, Running/Jogging, TNS Grippers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More Running And More Lefty Gripper Training

  1. Jason says:

    Right on Ben! Getting lots of good work in these days with the wind in your face.

    Like

Leave a Reply

