Gripper Update and a Rolling Thunder Quickie


Trained MMS Grippers on 6-25-12.  It was a very weak workout.  One of those where I almost wish I hadn’t written anything down so that I could just forget about it.  I won’t get into all the details but I missed my GHP7 on 3 attempts (all lefty as usual) – which I don’t remember ever happening since I’ve had the GHP7.  I also missed my 151lb and 154lb #3s on several attempts.  Very strange.  Not sure what the bad workout stemmed from.  Could’ve been anything from overdoing a kettlebell workout or any number of things.  Not going to spend much time pondering it though.  These types of workouts – although I loathe them – make me stronger in the long run.  And they build character.  Grinding through one even though everything is crap makes me at least feel like I’ve accomplished something in terms of perseverance if not actual results.

I figured my gripper workout sucked so I might as well really top it off with a quick Rolling Thunder workout.  My Rolling Thunder strength is always down after grippers so I figured I’d be lucky to pull around 187lbs on both hands.  Ended up doing some decent pulls – considering the crappy gripper workout beforehand.  188×1-both hands.  194×1-both hands.  And 200×1-both hands.  200 was a max on both hands. 

6-29-12, Friday.  Did TNS work with my Robert Baraban Adjustable gripper this morning (6-29-12) and it was a pretty solid workout.  Singled up (all lefty) to the easy #3 level on a few sets and did some doubles and triples with a #2.5 level too.  Then I did a few sets with my index and middle fingers (TNS) up to a tad harder than a #1.5 level.  Nothing to write home about, but better than the MMS workout from 4 days earlier for sure.

About bencrush

38-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas. A new addition to my training interest is the Highland Games. Had my first contest in July of 2010 and was hooked from the first throw. Armwrestling has now gotten my attention in a good way - I have some strong armwrestler friends who gave me a taste of it on 5-14-11 after the KC Qualifier II grip contest.
This entry was posted in Grip Strength, Grippers, MMS Grippers, Rolling Thunder, TNS Grippers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gripper Update and a Rolling Thunder Quickie

  1. chuck says:

    sometimes you have to just put your time in. myself, i have been noticing hand strength dropping slightly lately after some heavy volume the last several weeks. gonna take time off next week. i usually get PRs after some good time off.

    Like

Leave a Reply

