4-30-10 Training: 2HP


4-30-10, Friday

2HP

-77X3
-98X1
-129X1
-152X1
-163X1 for 5 singles!

*Notes: Very pleased with this!  The setup is my (2) 35s and the width is 64mm.  Listened to Brent Barbe’s advice about pulling more singles at a weight near my max lift.  That will help me dial in my grip setup more than lighter weight lifts will.  And boy was he right.  I had to really focus even on the 2nd lift.  Of course 163 is technically 94% of my current max on this setup, so it was bound to be hard.  I feel like the next time I do a workout with this setup – (2) 35s – I’ll be able to add a few pounds and hopefully do 5 singles again.  Repeat that enough times and I’ll be the proud owner of a much stronger max in a few months.  All the pulls at 163 were full pulls.  Thumb web started to tear on the 2nd single at 163.  I kept at it and worked through the minor discomfort of raw skin and a bit of blood on the last single though and that’s a good thing to work on for a contest.

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Grip Strength, Pinch Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

