6-30-10: Close Grip Bench Press


It has been about 18 months since I severely injured my left shoulder in a contest.  I have struggled with trying to rehab it slowly and of course have sabotaged myself several times by not exercising any willpower and jumping right back into bending steel usually.  I have abstained from DO bending for a while now and it has paid off with some slight improvement in my left shoulder and the day-to-day soreness is abating somewhat the past few months. 

Time to start the slow march to a 300lb+ bench press again.  Pain is going to hold me back for a while.  But a healthy dose of prehab mixed with rehab should get me back on track and well into the 300lbs range by this time next year. 

6-30-10, Wednesday

CLOSE GRIP BENCH PRESS

-45X10, -95X3, -135X1, -185X1…even the 45lb set hurt and the 185lb single hurt quite a bit.

-220X1…this one hurt a lot.  I’m very detrained since it’s been about a year since a meaningful bench press workout took place.  100 kilograms isn’t a terrible starting place for my bench press comeback though and I’ll make the best of it.  Slow and steady wins the race.  Prehab and rehab will be equally as important as my actual bench press training.  Close grip bench press hurts my shoulder less than the standard shoulder-width grip.

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Bench Press. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

