7-13-10: Bench Press


7-13-10, Tuesday

BENCH PRESS

I may be competing in my first Highland Games next Saturday so I figured I’d get my bench press workout out of the way and see what I could do without my shoulder falling apart.  At least benching the bar didn’t hurt this time.  No consolation since it hurt beginning at 95lbs and never let up after that.  It just shuts my max strength down but doesn’t seem to linger (the pain) for days this time around so that’s good news.

-45X10, 95X1, 135X1, 185X1

-225X1

-230X1

*Overall Notes: Up 10lbs from last test day.  Hurt as much as that first max day though so the goal is to get to the point where benching does not hurt the shoulder.  That way I’ll be able to actually put 100% into the left shoulder and should be a lot nearer to 300lbs then.

Bodyweight was 224lbs today and that’s got to go down.  Have a new training program on the way in a week or two that should truly revolutionize the way I workout.

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Bench Press, Strength Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

