7-30-10: 29lb Braemar Stone


7-30-10, Friday

29LB BRAEMAR STONE

Today was my first time working with the Braemar style of throwing the stone.  The only other time I’ve thrown a stone was at the Ledaig Highland Games 2 Saturdays ago.  My first throw that day was Braemar style and then with a glide on the next 2 attempts.  So everything today will be a PR in other words. 

-@ 15 feet-right hand

-@ 16 feet-right hand

-@ 15 feet-right hand, -@ 10 feet-left hand

-@ 16 feet-right hand, -@ 12.5 feet-left hand

-@ 17.5 feet-right hand, -@ 12 feet-left hand

-@ 18 feet-right hand, -@ 13 feet-left hand

-@ 18 feet-right hand, -@ 15 feet-left hand

*Overall Notes: These last throws will be my marks to beat in my next practice with the 29lb Braemar Stone.  Thanks to my in-laws, Deb & Walt, for the great smooth river stone! 

Really had to concentrate on getting into a low crouching position and then firing out of the hole as quickly as possible and then trying to keep my elbow high to get more distance on the stone.  Considering I managed to throw it 2 feet longer when I really made an effort to do both of those things, that’s a really good outcome for such a small technique tweak. 

Lefty is obviously shorter than my right mainly because of my previous shoulder injuries.  It didn’t hurt it much to throw the stone though.

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Braemar Stone, Highland Games and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

