8-1-10: Heavy Weight For Distance


8-1-10, Sunday

HEAVY WEIGHT FOR DISTANCE

Cobbled together a HWFD implement with my 53lb kettlebell and a 3lb handle with some heavy duty strapping to tie it together and act like a chain from the handle to the weight.  Felt a lot like the HWFD that I threw in the Ledaig Highland Games 2 weekends ago so I did a good job.  It’s probably a bit long, 24″ from the ground to the top of the handle, but I’ll try to shorten that in the coming workouts. 

-Took about 6 throws.  Fell down once.  Thought I had possibly herniated for a split second because of some shooting stomach pain but it quickly subsided.  Most throws were around 12 feet.  One throw was 15 feet.  And my best of the night was at 20 feet!  Not a big deal to most, but it’s an improvement of about 5 feet over my performance at my first HG a few weeks ago. 

My wife also threw with me and she had a few (same 56lb weight) throws at 9 feet which I thought was pretty good considering she doesn’t work out and has never thrown before last night.  She looked smoother in her winding movements than I did without a doubt.

I need a lot of work on my winding movement.  I’m still doing the single wind in the HWFD but I can barely get the footwork down on that even.  The only time it seemed pretty smooth last night was the 20 foot throw.  The others just seemed really rushed and “pushed” more than pulled.  I know I’m stronger than my meager numbers are showing and it’s already irritating.  But I’m going to stick with it because the throws make me feel great afterwards.  I could definitely see myself throwing every day of the week if my body could hold up through the abuse.

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Heavy Weight For Distance, Highland Games, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 8-1-10: Heavy Weight For Distance

  1. brent says:

    you need to get the weight at 18″ right away. with that much extra length the whole throw is changed. when you go to use a legit hwfd you’ll be completely thrown off.

    Like

Leave a Reply

