8-21-10: Braemar Stone


8-21-10, Saturday

BRAEMAR STONE

Did a workout where I went through several sizes of stones today and it was pretty enjoyable.  Didn’t measure most of the throws and I think that’s going to end up helping me more than hurting me since I won’t be spending time measuring everything and I can relax somewhat and work on technique and speed instead of worrying how far I threw the stone.

-1 throw with 5lb stone-both hands

-1 throw with 10lb medicine ball-both hands

-1 throw with 11lb stone-both hands

-4 throws with 29lb stone-right hand, -2 throws lefty…best was 17’5″ righty

-3 throws with 38lb blob-right hand, -1 throw lefty…best was 14’3″ righty

*Notes: Also of note from the Braemar workout: 3 foot fouls on my best right hand throws.  2 of those fouls would’ve been PRs.  15’3″ with the 38lb blob and 18’6″ with the 29lb rock.  Obviously I’m not counting them as PRs since I foot-fouled (foot went over my homemade trig) though.  I need to start working on my Open Stone technique ASAP.

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Braemar Stone, Highland Games and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

