9-1-10: LWFD


9-1-10, Wednesday

LWFD

Actually weighed 29lbs but that’s not going to make a lot of difference.  I cobbled together a homemade LWFD “implement” that consisted of some plates duct taped and tied together with a strap through the middle and then attached to my 3lb handle.  Worked well enough for what I wanted though. 

-8 throws.  Best was 30′.  Had 3 throws at 28′ and 2 at 25′ so the range was kind of large.  32’11.5″ is what I threw at the Ledaig Highland Games in July.  I think I would’ve thrown a real implement farther than that today but I’ve got to train with what I have right now.  No problem with that.  All the throws were right handed.  Felt like my footwork is getting a little smoother.  Still slow as molasses but I’m working on speeding things up.

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Highland Games, Light Weight For Distance and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 9-1-10: LWFD

  1. brent says:

    make sure you mark out a box to throw from. otherwise, you can end up with some bad habits that will cause you to fowl.

    Like

  2. bencrush says:

    Great point Brent! I’ll mark out the official size today before throwing. Thanks for all the help!

    Like

Leave a Reply

