9-30-10: Hammer and WFD


9-30-10, Thursday

LIGHT HAMMER

-3 throws with 15lbs and 1 throw with 10lbs.  My homemade hammer broke on the first throw with 10lbs so I didn’t get to throw anymore.  Too bad because I felt like I was right on the cusp of making some technique breakthroughs.  After I got home I went to the hardware store and bought the materials to make another homemade hammer for my last practice session sometime next week.  Didn’t measure any of the throws but I know they were within 5′ of my best throw at the July Ledaig Highland Games.

14lb WFD

-4 throws with the women’s LWFD.  Figured it would help my footwork and speed to do a few throws with it.  It definitely helped and I hit a 3′ PR when I went to the 28lb LWFD after these 4 throws.  Didn’t measure any of these throws but somewhere around 60’+. 

28lb WFD

-4 throws and I only measured the longest.  Hit 36′ – a 3′ PR over my games record!  Still doing the singe spin but it’s really starting to feel smooth and unforced.  We’ll see if that translates into a longer throw with the 56lb HWFD on games day though.

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Highland Games, Light Hammer, Light Weight For Distance, Scottish Hammer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

