Countdown: A week until the games


Well we’re 1 week away from the Kirksville Highland Games!  One more throwing session scheduled for Monday or Tuesday and then I’ll take the next 4 days off thanks to a suggestion on NASGAweb. 

The last workout I’ll focus on the Light Hammer and LWFD.  Get as many throws as I can until I start feeling fatigued and then call it a day.  I like finishing the workout with the knowledge that I could’ve done more but that what I did was sufficient.  I feel that my recovery from the workouts using that approach will be more optimal. 

I’ve been watching a few videos of the elite pros throwing the LWFD, HWFD, Braemar, and the hammers to get some inspiration for my performance at the games. 

I’m even more excited about the prospect of seeing my wife compete in her first Highland Games though.  I think she’ll have a blast and I keep telling her that I sincerely think it will be a lifechanging event in terms of she’ll never want to stop training the Highland Games.

Kilts haven’t gotten here yet but it’s still pretty early for that.  I ordered through Sport Kilts and Seamus has been terrific with his customer service.  I messed up and didn’t order speedy shipping so he’s helping me get that straightened out so we can get our kilts by games day.  Great company and great prices!  They were recommended many times by many guys and gals.

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Braemar Stone, Glide, Heavy Weight For Distance, Highland Games, Light Hammer, Light Weight For Distance, Middle Weight For Distance, Scottish Hammer, Shot, South African Spin, Weight Over Bar and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

