Kirksville Highland Games Results


10-9-10, Saturday

KIRKSVILLE HIGHLAND GAMES

Had a wonderful time at the Kirksville Highland Games yesterday!  Very sore today so I’m going to keep my update pretty short for now.  Pleased with my results on everything except the HWFD – and that bad performance was just a fluke (as I proved at my house this afternoon) so I don’t expect that to happen that poorly again.

Listed in order of performance:

WEIGHT OVER BAR: 10 feet (1 foot competition PR)

SHEAF: 16 feet (16 foot competition PR – bombed the only other time I tried it at the Ledaig Highland Games in July)

BRAEMAR STONE (22lb): 22 feet 6 inches (2 foot PR over my training best)

HWFD: 12 feet (3 feet UNDER my competition best – had a bad day on this event)

LWFD: 37 feet 6 inches (4.5 foot competition PR)

HEAVY HAMMER: 49 feet 7 inches (never done this weight in competition)

LIGHT HAMMER: 62 feet 7 inches (8 foot competition PR!)

CABER: one 11:00 toss (bombed the only other time I tried this in competition at the Ledaig Highland Games)

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Braemar Stone, Heavy Weight For Distance, Highland Games, Light Hammer, Light Weight For Distance, Scottish Hammer, Weight Over Bar and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

