10-30-10: Light and Heavy Hammer


10-30-10, Saturday

LIGHT & HEAVY HAMMER

-7 throws with the HH.  2 throws with the LH.  HH broke on the 7th throw so that was the end of my workout with the 22lber.  Threw the LH after the HH so the 16lber felt much more comfortable after swinging the heavier one around.  Measured some of my HH throws: 48′, 44′, 37′, 37′.  48′ is pitiful but it’s only about 1.5′ off my best comp throw so that’s fine for now.  Plus the weights are 10lb plates and they’re a bit larger diameter than the 22lb ball that we used at the Kirksville Games.  Measured both of my LH throws and they sucked: 58′, 55′.  About 4.5′ off my comp best.   

I like working with both the hammer weights.  I think next year I’ll buy a real hammer from Old Celt (or wherever) so I can practice with something that doesn’t break every time I throw with it. 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Heavy Hammer, Highland Games, Light Hammer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 10-30-10: Light and Heavy Hammer

  1. Jason says:

    Finally got to toss a hammer today and Ben….IT’S FREAKIN AWESOME BUDDY!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

