11-8-10: 56lb Weight For Distance (9″ PR!)


11-8-10, Monday

HWFD

-7 throws.  6 of those were with the standard style and only one was the modified style.  Looks like the modified style has already ran out of length for me.  I need more of a wind-up and the standard style gives me that.  Broke my previous PR twice in this workout!  Not massive increases, but one was 9″ over my previous best.

-17’8″

-16’10”

-15’3″

-19’2″…beat my previous PR by 2″

-16’9″…modified style, felt very awkward today

-15’6″

-19’9″!…focused on getting a longer, smoother pull and it paid off with a better throw.  20′ is just around the corner.

*Overall Notes: Want to give a big thank-you to Craig Smith – a Highland Games pro – who’s given me some help on the NASGA forum!

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Craig Smith, Heavy Weight For Distance, Highland Games and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

