56lb WFD and Braemar 16lb Shot


11-15-10, Monday

HWFD

-7 throws.  All were sub-par.  Foot-faulted on the first throw and it was only 15′.  The workout went downhill from there.  15′ – 15’10” – 15′ – 17’1″ – 17’4″ – 16’3″ – 14’6″.  Knew it was time to throw in the towel probably after the 1st throw to be honest.  But I kept at it hoping that I might get my form figured out today and hit something that wasn’t over 2 feet below my best throw. 

BRAEMAR 16LB SHOT

-6 throws with both hands.  Beat my old PR by 9″ righty!  Will only list righty throws.  24’4″ – 25’3″ – 26’1″26’7″26’1″26’3″.  Had 4 throws that were over my previous best.  Very happy with this increase since my HWFD throws sucked.  Finally broke the 26′ barrier.  Been quite a while since I increased my Braemar PR with the 16lb shot.  

Today was a perfect example of salvaging a bad workout by switching to something else and sticking with it regardless of how it turns out. 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Braemar Stone, Heavy Weight For Distance, Highland Games, Shot and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

