11-22-10: 1st test of grip strength since July 16th, 2010


11-22-10, Sunday

MMS GRIPPERS

Hadn’t planned on testing grip but I was out in the garage for an extended period and finally just decided to do it since it had been 4 months since I’ve done a grip workout.  MMS grippers were first.  Best righty was my 160lb #3 and lefty was a 154lb #3.  Both are down quite a bit since even July.  That’s what I expected though with this lengthy layoff.  Still glad to be closing a few #3s though with no grip training in 4 months.  Guess that grip strength is going to stay with me for quite a while.

MOUSE PINCH-47MM

Did this more out of shame for not training it enough even when I was training grip.  Last Mouse Pinch workout was July 12th, 2010.  In that workout I barely pulled 172lbs for a single.  This workout I pulled 155lbs, 165lbs, and then failed on 180lbs twice.  Then I recovered and got set and pulled 181lbs.  Then did the same with 187lbs for a new all-time PR!  This was most unexpected.  Not only had my weakest event actually improved with time off, but it had gone up about 6lbs with no grip training.  A nice surprise. 

2″ VBAR

Used my USAWA 18″ long 2″ vbar.  It’s still slicker than my old FBBC 2″ vbar used to be.  Doesn’t hold chalk as well either.  Ended with 244lbs lefty and 220lbs righty.  Both are decent numbers for this particular vbar actually.  240lbs on this vbar used to mean 270lbs+ on my FBBC 2″ vbar.  So it appears that my 2″ vbar strength didn’t go down much or at all either. 

Have I missed training my grip?  Yes.  As much as I thought I would 6 months ago?  Not quite.  But it has been such a big part of my training life for 10 years that it was nice to have an old familiar workout again last night. 

There is a new grip org on the horizon in the US.  I’ll post the details here soon and hope to see my readers support the competitions that sprout up all over the US in 2011 and beyond.

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in 2" vbar, Grip Strength, Grippers, Mouse Pinch, Pinch Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 11-22-10: 1st test of grip strength since July 16th, 2010

  1. Bob Sundin says:

    Great pinching Ben! That’s a helluva PR in the backyard; don’t you usually do better with a crowd or in a contest? I bet you could be near your best very soon in all grip areas.

    I don’t think I’ll ever figure out pinch to my satisfaction. I’ll think I finally have my width dialled in or that a certain technique change helped only to find that it goes backward the next go-round.

    Like

Leave a Reply

