HUGE PR on my Mouse Pinch – 207lbs!


Today I tested the results of my “Bannister Drags” experiment and they were quite good.  Increased my Mouse Pinch PR at 47mm from 187lbs to 207lbs!  20lb increase in 1 month of training.  No pinch training other than what I call “Bannister Drags” – which are essentially just pinch gripping a metal railing and sliding the hands down it at a slow speed while squeezing moderately hard for several sets throughout the day.  Averaged about 3 workouts per week. 

Will include video as soon as it’s done uploading to YouTube. 

This was a neat experiment because it proves that pinch strength can be increased dramatically with no access to a 2HP apparatus.  In fact, I have access to a few 2HP setups but have never made such quick gains on my pinch strength.  Admittedly, the results of the test only had positive carryover to the Mouse Pinch setup.  There was no change in my 2HP max on my (2)35s setup.  That was disappointing, but the experiment was still a resounding success since I had targeted the training to see if it had an increase specifically on my Mouse Pinch strength.  And it did.

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Bannister Drags, Grip Strength, Pinch Training, Unconventional Grip Training and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

