1-4-11: Back to some heavier grip training – and tested my back


1-4-11, Tuesday

It’s been almost a month since I injured my back (bulging disc) so today’s workout made me nervous even with small weights.  The USAWA National Grip Championships are in mid-February so I’ve only got about a month to try to make up some lost ground.  It’s apparent that my back is going to hold me back by a large margin on all the events. 

Decided to test my back with the Double Overhand Axle Deadlift today.  My best lift is 380lbs but that was back in mid-2009 when I was actually training it.  I think that without the back injury I’m good for about 350lbs on the axle any day of the week.  I was prepared to be happy with 225lbs today though, as long as there was no pain or re-injury.  I pulled everything sumo since that’s the only style of deadlift that doesn’t put my back in a precarious position.

DO AXLE DEADLIFT

-112×1    

-203×1     *Notes: Felt very weak but didn’t have any pain. 

-273×1     *Notes: No pain again, and it felt a bit better than 203 did.  Could already feel that my back was about at its limit for a while though. 

-304×1     *Notes: Pulled this one awfully slow because I was worried about quick movements.  My back was a little tender after this pull so I didn’t try any more today.  Even at this low weight it was plenty to worry me about re-injury.  Left hand was really strange and lost its grip at the very beginning of the pull but I held onto it anyway with just fingertips by the time I lowered it under control to the ground. 

This will be my baseline to work from for the contest.  I’ve had to drastically lower my goals for the contest post-back injury.  That’s okay though because it’ll be nice to see everyone again and the friendly competition is always welcome.  Just wish I was going to be 100% so I could hold my own better for the most part. 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Axle, Deadlift, Grip Strength and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

