“Just Because I Can” Workout: 100 reps with the #3-right hand


My wife’s unofficial motto could be: “Just because you can…doesn’t mean you should.”  I generally subscribe to this idea too but once in a while you’ve got to shake things up and do something just because you can.  Preferably an action that doesn’t harm anyone and is beneficial to yourself.  Enter my torsion spring gripper workout from this morning.  It’s a high volume workout with a #3.  A 146lb (easy side) #3 to be exact.  For those not in the know, MMS means Mash Monster Set.  And that means it’s a parallel handles set instead of a no set or Credit Card Set – which Ironmind requires for their certification.  Bit of trivia: I was certified in May of 2005.  Not too long after the requirement was changed to Credit Card Set for an Ironmind certification. 

1-9-11, Sunday

MMS GRIPPERS

Here’s the breakdown of reps and sets to get to the 100 reps total:

-11 sets of 5 reps (55 reps)

-1 set of 4 reps (4 reps)

-12 sets of 3 reps (36 reps)

-2 sets of 2 reps (4 reps)

-1 set of 1 rep (1 rep)

It’s been a while since I’ve done a really high volume workout with the easy #3.  My last single was crushed to dust.  So my strength wasn’t going down drastically but my right hand got pretty tender on the spot on the palm where the handle sits.  This workout was done without chalk – which is not how I like to do my grip workouts but I couldn’t have chalk where I was doing the workout. 

Total elapsed time was 4 hours and 10 minutes.  If I do this workout again I’ll just cut the time down a bit.  I wasn’t rushing anything though and it was pretty leisurely.  Well, if you can call doing 11 sets of 5 reps on the easy #3 (for me) leisurely, haha.

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Grip Strength, Grippers, Ironmind and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

