1-24-11: Saxon Plank Deadlift and 2″ Vertical Bar – USAWA Rules


The Saxon Plank is a grip training tool that Al Myers made specifically for a USAWA contest – or rather the silent auction that followed it, in the case of the Saxon Plank that I recently bought.  The gripping surface is 3″ wide and wood.  The “plank” is loadable though so as much weight as needed can be added to get a very effective pinch grip workout.  It was 36 degrees in my garage today so it also nice that the wood is a lot easier on my fingers in that cold temperature than cold steel.  This was a 2 pound PR over my only other Saxon Plank Deadlift workout.  My heaviest pull of the workout is loading now on YouTube so I’ll update my blog as soon as it is loaded.

1-24-11, Monday

SAXON PLANK DEADLIFT

-79×3

-131×1     *Notes: Surprisingly hard even though the weight is well under the max I set in my previous (and only) workout with the Saxon Plank. 

-152×1     *Notes: New PR by 2 pounds.  Contest-legal pause too in the locked-out position at the top of the pull.  Captured on video and already uploaded to YouTube.

-154×1     *Notes: Not going to count as a contest-legal PR because there was no pause at the top of the pull – but it was a full deadlift anyway so it counts as a completed rep in my book.

-141×1     *Notes: Just finishing with an easier pull.

2″ VERTICAL BAR – USAWA RULES

-198×1-left hand, -MISS-right hand     *Notes: Felt way harder than it should have.  Right hand was only about 3″ short of a full lift.  Left hand was paused and contest-legal.  It was 36 degrees in the garage and I think that might’ve had something to do with the bar feeling so slick today even with a reapplication of chalk to the vbar.

-204×1-both hands     *Notes: That’s more like it.  Still pretty low poundage compared to what I’m used to but it’ll do. 

-214-MISS-left hand     *Notes: Had the height but I wasn’t able to lock out my legs or pause at the highest point of the pull.  Going to try it again after a short rest.

-214×1-left hand     *Notes: Glad to get this on a 2nd attempt!  Didn’t attempt this weight righty since my left was having such a difficult time today.  On video and a contest-legal pause at the top.

*Overall Notes: 2 pound PR on the Saxon Plank Deadlift was a good way to end the first exercise.  Disappointed with my vbar strength – it seems to really be on the downward spiral also this year.  Oh well, sometimes the most important workouts are the ones I do when I’m weak and thinking about giving up. 

I will be 220lbs or under at the USAWA National Grip Championships on February 12th so I’ll be competing against my own record in the 2″ Vertical Bar.  That record is 235lbs lefty and I won’t be getting very close to that on contest day I don’t think.  I’d like to drop down to the 209 pound class and snag that record in the 2″ Vertical Bar but I don’t know if I have the willpower to drop down that much in 17 days.  Weight today is 221 pounds.  Weight on January 1st was 231 pounds. 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in 2" vbar, Al Myers, Grip Contest, Grip Strength, Saxon Deadlift, Saxon Plank, USAWA, USAWA contest, USAWA Training, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

