Abstaining from working out…


The 9th, 10th, and 11th have been spent fighting the urge to work out.  It would of course be counterproductive to do any kind of workout since my contest is on Saturday.  But old habits die hard and I’m definitely in the habit of working out more often than I have been lately – due to the prep work for the grip contest. 

Have looked over my contest goals again and I think they’re still valid. 

I have done a few minutes of un-weighted good mornings the past few days – trying to keep my lower back feeling strong and limber.  Really debated (with myself) whether to do the good mornings or some daily low weight kettlebell swings.  I think the kettlebell swings would be a better idea but I wasn’t sure how they would affect my recovery for the contest.  And since I’m not in great cardio shape – which translates to great recovery shape right now – I decided to go with the good mornings this time.  For the next contest I’ll go with the kettlebell swings. 

Working out is sometimes hard.  NOT working out is harder for me!  Wish that translated into limitless strength and an underwear model’s body – but it doesn’t, lol. 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Grip Contest, Grip Strength, USAWA, USAWA contest, USAWA Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

