2-15-11: 2″ Vertical Bar – Biofeedback Tested, Gym Movement


Today I put Adam Glass’s advice to work and tested a few exercises with the biofeedback Gym Movement method of what I call the “stretch test.”  Not sure what the technical term for it is though.  I don’t have much experience with Biofeedback Testing so if this is totally ludicrous hopefully someone knowledgeable will correct me – gently.  The Movement Manifesto lists the things that adherents of the Gym Movement protocols test and it’s quite a bit more than the simple test I did of just testing the exercise itself.  I don’t know how to test the load, reps, rest period, etc. – or more accurately, I don’t know what I’m looking for if I did test those parameters.  So for now I’ll stick to testing the exercise itself.   

Here’s what I tested:

-2″ Vertical Bar

-MMS Grippers

-2HP

The 2″ Vertical Bar tested the best.  I really wanted to do MMS Grippers so I tested it twice and got the same result both times.  It tested the worst out of the 3 choices.  I don’t even really know how to figure out what load to test so I tried to choose a load that was similar across all 3 exercises.  Used 150 pounds on the vbar, a #2 gripper, and 105 pounds on the 2HP. 

2-15-11, Tuesday

2″ VERTICAL BAR

Standard grip contest rules.  Definitely something to be said for the testing protocol since I pulled a weight today that I haven’t pulled since November of last year.  Not a huge weight, but this might be the start of the end of my backsliding on the grip events!  I can only hope. 

-107×1-both hands

-198×1-both hands

-233×1-both hands     *Notes: Both were full lifts.

-260-MISS-both hands     *Notes: Actually got about 1/4″ with my left hand.

-260-MISS-both hands     *Notes: Got about 1/4″ with my right hand this time.  Weird. 

-247-MISS-both hands     *Notes: Got about 1″ with my right hand though.  Needed to lower the weight to see what I could actually get a decent lift with to have a new baseline.

-244-MISS-left hand, -x1-right hand!     *Notes: Pulled about 1/4″ lefty and 3″ righty.  Glad to pull this weight even though it’s ridiculously low.  At least this is heading…↑ 

 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in 2" vbar, Adam Glass, Biofeedback Testing, Grip Strength, Grippers, Gym Movement, Pinch Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

