3-17-11: FBBC 2″ Vertical Bar – breakthrough thanks to Grip and Rip 2.1


3-17-11, Thursday

FBBC 2″ VERTICAL BAR

-276-MISS-both hands     *Notes: Not sure why I skipped a normal warmup but I felt really strong.  Then was surprised when the weight didn’t move off the ground.

-276-MISS-both hands     *Notes: Ever the optimist – I tried again.  Nothing out of either hand.

-253×1-right hand, -MISS-left hand     *Notes: Missed on 3 attempts lefty!  That’s really strange.  Lefty is normally my stronger hand. 

-253×1-both hands     *Notes: Both full pulls this time.  What the heck is going on? 

-263×1-both hands     *Notes: Pulled about 3″ lefty and a full pull righty.

-273×1-left hand, -MISS-right hand     *Notes: Full pull lefty and got about 1.5″ righty.  Almost enough height to count as a legitimate lift.  But not quite.

-291×1-MISS-both hands     *Notes: Got about 1″ righty!  Nothing lefty on 2 attempts.  Surprised and pleased to get any movement righty so I will attempt this a few more times.

-291×1-right hand!, -MISS-left hand     *Notes: NEW PR righty!  Hell yeah, great feeling getting 291.  A step closer to 300lbs!  Pulled right at 2″.  Had to review the video it was so close.  Definitely a legit lift though.

-291×1-right hand!, -MISS-left hand     *Notes: Pulled to the 2″ height again.  Had to review video to make sure it was legit – and it definitely was! 

-301-MISS-both hands     *Notes: Tried 2 attempts on both hands and got nothing at all.  Not bad considering the 5lb PR over the 2″ vbar workout from 4 days ago. 

Overall Notes: 250 will be my opener at the contest so I’m making sure that I can lift it with little to no warmup.  I want my 4 attempts to really count.  I’ll open with 250lbs and then go to 275lbs.  Then 300lbs.  Or at least that’s the plan.  Plans have a way of changing though if I’m not feeling really ON that day.  I will open with 250lbs unless I’m feeling terribly ill though.  275lbs should be enough for 2nd or 3rd place in the KC Qualifier II though.  Josh Dale will probably pull somewhere around 280-300lbs too.  So I know I’ll have my work cut out for me.  

Thanks to Adam T. Glass and Brad Nelson for their superb grip training DVD titled “Grip and Rip 2.1” – it has helped me significantly just in the 3 weeks that I’ve been putting it to use in my workouts.  Still haven’t figured out how to get my gripper strength on the rise again but it’ll work itself out I think. 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in 2" vbar, Adam Glass, Biofeedback Testing, Grip and Rip 2.1 DVD, Grip Contest, Grip Strength, Gym Movement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

