3-19-11: Mouse Pinch-48mm (EPIC FAIL PINCH WORKOUT)


3-19-11, Saturday

MOUSE PINCH-48MM

This workout saw the return of me standing on an 8″-high stack of weight plates to simulate the pulling distance (length of pull) in the May grip contest.  It was astounding to me in this workout how much lower my pinch weight was compared to when I was pulling on the Mouse Pinch from a higher position a few months back. 

-104×1     *Notes: Felt 20lbs heavier than what it was.  I actually had to recheck the weights and make sure I didn’t have a “phantom” weight plate on there, haha!  I knew I was in for a terrible pinch workout today.  And I wasn’t disappointed, lol.

-156-MISS     *Notes: Pulled this weight about an inch off the ground.  Dammit! 

-156×1     *Notes: Full pull – but it was totally a max effort today.  Sorely disappointed – more like crushed – about pulling 18lbs LESS than I did on the same setup 9 days ago. 

-162-total of 6 MISSES     *Notes: Got 1″ of movement on 3 attempts.  4″ of movement on 2 attempts.  And no movement at all on the final attempt.  4″ of movement is about half a pull – since pulling the plates off the floor about 8 or 9″ is considered a full lift in a contest. 

*Overall Notes: This pinch workout was so bad that I feel like it must’ve built a lot of character just trying a half-dozen times to pull a weight that should’ve been child’s play – even for my pathetic pinch strength.  This does not bode well for my May contest! 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Grip Strength, Mouse Pinch, Pinch Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

