4-18-11: USAWA 3.5″ Dumbbell Walk


4-18-11, Monday

3.5″ DUMBBELL WALK

-62lbs – full 10-foot trip-both hands     *Notes: Warmup for the coming attempts.  Pretty easy.  But I wanted to see if there were going to be any balance or grip issues.  None anywhere near this weight at least.  This was my 1st time performing the actual USAWA event. 

-82lbs – full 10-foot trip-both hands     *Notes: Not much harder than the 62lb warmup. 

-99lbs – full 10-foot trip-both hands     *Notes: This was what I was shooting for.  Well, actually 100lbs was the goal but I weighed it on my digital scale and it was off by a pound.  This essentially ties the current unlimited weight class USAWA record.  

-113lbs – full 10-foot trip-right hand!     *Notes: This was very hard but I made it smoothly through the 10 feet with a little strength to spare.  Got it on video and then the measurement of the distance and the weight of the dumbbell too. 

-121lbs – lifted about 4″ right hand, – nothing lefty.     *Notes: Surprised me that I didn’t get at least a few feet righty.  Definitely one of those lifts where even 5lbs can be the difference between making a lift and totally missing it.

*Overall Notes: Very pleased with how this workout turned out!  Did all the trips thumbless.  I think that by the end of the year 125lbs will be in my reach. 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in 3.5" Dumbbell, Al Myers, Grip Contest, Grip Strength, Thick Bar, USAWA, USAWA contest, USAWA Training and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

