5-2-11: 2″ Vertical Bar and MMS and TNS Grippers


5-2-11, Monday

2″ VERTICAL BAR

*Notes: Did this workout after a 12-hour shift.  Knew that I didn’t have much time to sleep before I drove down to see family in western KS so I made it as short as I could.  Skipped the warmups to make it more like a contest setting.  2″ vbar is going to be the 4th event at our grip contest so I won’t necessarily need any specific 2″ vbar warmups anyway before jumping in at my opening weight – 250lbs.  So the goal was to pull 250lbs on a 1st attempt and then go up a bit from there if possible.  I always end up pulling more weight in workouts where I take the time to warmup.  So why would I purposely skip a warmup if I know that it won’t yield the highest weight pull?  Simply to see what I can do. 

-251×1-both hands     *Notes: Full lift right hand.  Only got 2″ lefty.  Right hand lift was solid enough that I’m not concerned about contest day.  Not that I have been for a while…but in a 2008 Michigan Grip contest I opened at 250lbs and almost bombed out.  Not going to be even close this time.

-277-MISS-both hands     *Notes: No movement at all!  Not a good sign.  I got cocky and look what it got me.

-277-MISS-both hands     *Notes: Got 1.5″ righty and .5″ lefty.  Not good, but at least there was some movement this time.  I count this as my 3rd attempt in a contest-simulation workout.  One more chance to make a good lift.

-277×1-right hand, -1.5″ lefty     *Notes: Missed by such a close margin lefty but pulled it about 3″ righty for a good lift. 

MMS GRIPPERS

*Notes: Definitely not an ideal time to do MMS grippers – after doing 2″ vbar.  But that’s kind of the point with my attempts on these grippers after the 2″ vbar.  I wanted to see if I could do it.  If I can close any of the mid-160lbs grippers AFTER 2″ vbar then I can close a good deal higher at the contest since it’s the first event.

-169lb #3.5-MISS-right hand     *Notes: Missed by a sliver!  Could barely see it on video but it was there.  Buoyed by this near miss after working 2″ vbar though.

-169lb #3.5×1-right hand     *Notes: Barely closed it for a split second. 

-166lb RB300x1-right hand     *Notes: Barely closed it for a split second.

-166lb RB300x1-right hand     *Notes: Solid close and 1-second hold!  That’s more like it.

-167lb Super Elite-x1-right hand     *Notes: Very solid close and 2-second hold! 

TNS GRIPPERS

-129lb Atomgripz Mirror Finish Triple Band for 3 singles-right hand, -x1-left hand     *Notes: Good way to end the workout.

*Overall Notes: Always want more weight on the 2″ vbar but 277×1 is a good performance with essentially no warmup.  MMS Grippers went well – better than I was hoping for after doing 2″ vbar!  TNS Grippers were just an easy finisher.

About bencrush

47-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas. Mental health is a big focus going forward. And it should've been all along.
This entry was posted in 2" vbar, Atomgripz, Contest Training, Grip Contest, Grip Strength, Grippers, KC Qualifier II - Grip Contest, TNS Grippers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment