5-2-11: 2″ Vertical Bar and MMS and TNS Grippers


5-2-11, Monday

2″ VERTICAL BAR

*Notes: Did this workout after a 12-hour shift.  Knew that I didn’t have much time to sleep before I drove down to see family in western KS so I made it as short as I could.  Skipped the warmups to make it more like a contest setting.  2″ vbar is going to be the 4th event at our grip contest so I won’t necessarily need any specific 2″ vbar warmups anyway before jumping in at my opening weight – 250lbs.  So the goal was to pull 250lbs on a 1st attempt and then go up a bit from there if possible.  I always end up pulling more weight in workouts where I take the time to warmup.  So why would I purposely skip a warmup if I know that it won’t yield the highest weight pull?  Simply to see what I can do. 

-251×1-both hands     *Notes: Full lift right hand.  Only got 2″ lefty.  Right hand lift was solid enough that I’m not concerned about contest day.  Not that I have been for a while…but in a 2008 Michigan Grip contest I opened at 250lbs and almost bombed out.  Not going to be even close this time.

-277-MISS-both hands     *Notes: No movement at all!  Not a good sign.  I got cocky and look what it got me.

-277-MISS-both hands     *Notes: Got 1.5″ righty and .5″ lefty.  Not good, but at least there was some movement this time.  I count this as my 3rd attempt in a contest-simulation workout.  One more chance to make a good lift.

-277×1-right hand, -1.5″ lefty     *Notes: Missed by such a close margin lefty but pulled it about 3″ righty for a good lift. 

MMS GRIPPERS

*Notes: Definitely not an ideal time to do MMS grippers – after doing 2″ vbar.  But that’s kind of the point with my attempts on these grippers after the 2″ vbar.  I wanted to see if I could do it.  If I can close any of the mid-160lbs grippers AFTER 2″ vbar then I can close a good deal higher at the contest since it’s the first event.

-169lb #3.5-MISS-right hand     *Notes: Missed by a sliver!  Could barely see it on video but it was there.  Buoyed by this near miss after working 2″ vbar though.

-169lb #3.5×1-right hand     *Notes: Barely closed it for a split second. 

-166lb RB300x1-right hand     *Notes: Barely closed it for a split second.

-166lb RB300x1-right hand     *Notes: Solid close and 1-second hold!  That’s more like it.

-167lb Super Elite-x1-right hand     *Notes: Very solid close and 2-second hold! 

TNS GRIPPERS

-129lb Atomgripz Mirror Finish Triple Band for 3 singles-right hand, -x1-left hand     *Notes: Good way to end the workout.

*Overall Notes: Always want more weight on the 2″ vbar but 277×1 is a good performance with essentially no warmup.  MMS Grippers went well – better than I was hoping for after doing 2″ vbar!  TNS Grippers were just an easy finisher.

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in 2" vbar, Atomgripz, Contest Training, Grip Contest, Grip Strength, Grippers, KC Qualifier II - Grip Contest, TNS Grippers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

