5-4-11: Power Tower Pushups


5-4-11, Wednesday

POWER TOWER PUSHUPS

Weight was 220lbs.  Left shoulder is always going to be the limiting factor on any chest and tricep exercise.  Did these at a moderate speed.  Wasn’t trying to go really fast and bang out max reps.  I didn’t test range of motion between sets either.  I just did another set when I felt ready.  And I never went to failure on any set.  Stopped most of the sets when the rep became difficult. 

Did 44 total reps in 10 minutes.  Not impressive by anybody’s standards – but I was still pleased because I was finally able to do a chest and tricep exercise with minimal shoulder pain!  Again, not trying to break any strength records either – although I think a large portion of my training will still be with weights – not only bodyweight. 

A day later I was pretty sore in the chest/shoulder tie-in area.  2 days later I was very sore.  3 days later I was as sore as the 1st day.  4 days later I’m still a tiny bit sore in my triceps.  That just goes to show how little tricep and chest stimulation I’ve received in the last year. 

For quick, at-a-glance record keeping purposes I’m going to bold print a short snippet that tells me what I did in each workout like this one.  The grip training might be written down differently on paper but I haven’t decided yet.

POWER TOWER PUSHUPS-220BW-44 total reps in 10 minutes-average reps per minute: 4.4

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Grip and Rip 2.1 DVD, Gym Movement, Power Tower, Pushups and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

