5-19-11: MMS Grippers


5-19-11, Thursday

MMS GRIPPERS

-#1×1-both hands

-#2×1-both hands

-137lb #3×1-both hands

-150lb #3×1-both hands     *Notes: Hands feel “creaky” and weak.  Guess I haven’t recovered from the KC Qualifier II grip contest last Saturday.  Barely got the close lefty. 

-166lb RB300-MISS-right hand     *Notes: Missed by about 1/8″.  Terrible set.  Weird “stuttering” kind of set that was very odd.  I have seen it a few times before but it’s always when my nervous system is just shot – usually after a contest or some other physically draining activity.  But I didn’t want to give up that easily so I took another shot at it.

-166lb RB300x1-right hand     *Notes: Definitely a max close today. 

-169lb #3.5-MISS-right hand     *Notes: Missed by about 1/16″.  Closer than I thought I’d get it after the way the workout started.  I didn’t expect to close it but I wanted to give it another shot anyway.

-169lb #3.5-MISS-right hand     *Notes: Missed by about the same margin as the first attempt. 

Ended my workout after this last attempt.  Reviewed the video and I was setting everything at 1″.  I was shooting for parallel handles.  So that just means I’m even more worn out than I thought.  Only on the grippers though because my pinch workouts have gone at least okay. 

My left elbow was hurting furiously by the end of the workout.  From setting grippers possibly.  Not sure, have only felt this on two other occasions in my 11 years of grip training. 

This will be the last workout for at least 3 days to recover.  I should feel better then.

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Grip Strength, Grippers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

