6-10-11: Chinups


6-10-11, Friday

CHINUPS

Bodyweight was 215lbs.  Rested 5 minutes between all sets today.  Just getting in more volume.  Not trying to set a rep PR.  Been 5 days since my last chinup workout. 

-5 sets of 3 reps, 2 sets of 2 reps, and 1 set of 1 rep.  Total of 20 reps.  Definitely a volume PR.  All reps were clean (good form) and I left a little in the tank on each set.  Again, just trying to get some increased volume with easy sets.  5 minutes between sets is a lot but I’ll switch this up in the coming workouts.  Sometimes I will do singles with much shorter rest.  Other times I might do much longer rest and just build volume in those workouts.     

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Chinups and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 6-10-11: Chinups

  1. Josh says:

    Ben have you ever tried the oldskool Arnold pull-up/chin-up(I always get them confused) workout where you just do as many sets as it takes to get 50 in one workout and then once you can do them in 5 or fewer sets you start with weight? I always thought it was a great way to get good at pull-ups but consistent pull-ups bothered my elbows and this was well before I started AW on a regular basis.

    Josh

    Like

Leave a Reply

