8-1-11: Double Overhand Axle Deadlift


8-1-11, Monday

DOUBLE OVERHAND AXLE DEADLIFT

Bodyweight was 222 today.  It was 113 degrees in my garage during this workout.  So I’m glad my chalk was doing its job and keeping my hands glued to the bar. 

My Axle is homemade.  It’s a piece of pipe (actual diameter is 1.9″) that I slid over an Olympic bar.  Then used some cardboard to stuff into it and help create a “soft bond” with the bar.  Then I used a bunch of duct tape to secure it to the bar so that it wouldn’t slip.  It’s solid as a rock and feels pretty close to an actual Axle.  I had an Axle for 8 years so I’m pretty familiar with how it felt. 

-137×3     *Notes: Sumo.  Wore flip flops.  No belt. 

-228×1     *Notes: Sumo.  Wore flip flops.  No belt.

-298×1     *Notes: Sumo.  No shoes.  No belt.

-350×1     *Notes: Sumo.  No shoes.  No belt.  Felt strong.  Back was a little iffy but I pulled right through that and had no pain.  Held for 5 seconds at the top.  Could’ve held it a lot longer.

-361×1     *Notes: Sumo.  No shoes.  Wore a belt.  Back was right at the danger point.  Held at the top for 10 seconds and felt very strong in the hands. 

Gotta start tightening my training focus for the Fall Grip Decathlon up at Adam Glass’s training facility in Minnesota – November. 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Adam Glass, Axle, Grip Contest, Grip Decathlon, Grip Strength and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

