8-15-11: EZ Bar Curl, Mouse Pinch-55mm, MMS Grippers


8-15-11, Monday

Did a bit of each in this shorty workout today.  Didn’t feel 100% on any of the workout – but it was still decent quality overall.  Sometimes the best workouts (in my opinion) are those you do when you DON’T want to do them.  Others disagree.  Gym Movement disagrees – and I am fond of GM.  But it’s one of those things I will always believe no matter how old I get or how much training I go through.

EZ BAR CURL

-57×10     Yeah, that’s it.  Seems to lightly tweak my elbows so I’m taking my time building up the poundage. 

EZ BAR REVERSE CURL

-57×8     Same reason as above.

MOUSE PINCH-55MM

-104×1     Felt heavier than it should have.  Knew it was going to be that kind of workout.  And not in a good way. 

-139×1     Felt 20lbs heavier than what it was loaded to.  I actually checked to make sure I hadn’t misloaded.  Not a good sign!

-177-MISS     Nothing at all. 

-177-MISS     Got about 1″ of air.  Wow that sucks.

-177-MISS     Got about 1/2″ of air this time.  Not going to end my workout on this failure though.  Have to drop the weight.  I don’t care if I have to drop the weight 40lbs.  I’m going to end the pinch workout on a success whatever it takes. 

-166×1     Full pull.  About time I got one to go my way – upwards.  Max pull today and I barely held on the entire way down. 

Did this workout – as all my recent Mouse Pinch workouts – while standing on a stack of plates that is 11″ high.  This ensures that my pull length is going to match what’s in a contest setting.  

I chose the 55mm setting because it’s between the 52mm and 57mm choices that the Fall Grip Decathlon is allowing.   

MMS GRIPPERS

-167lb Super Elite-x1-right hand     Whoa!  Very hard, but I felt it close.  Not at all what I thought was going to be the result of this ill-advised gripper work after doing pinch.  Usually pinch work totally fries my gripper strength.  That was the case here – but it might help me to start doing bits of gripper work after pinch until the Fall Grip Decathlon just to tap into any potential gains that might result from training that way. 

-159lb RB330N-x1-left hand     Nice!  Barely closed this but it is a very good close for my lefty – especially after a pinch workout. 

-167lb Super Elite-x1-right hand     2-second hold!  Very solid close.  Good stuff.

-159lb RB330N-x1-left hand     Another barely close – but a good performance from my lefty after pinching. 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in EZ Bar Curl, EZ Bar Reverse Curl, Grip Contest, Grip Decathlon, Grip Strength, Grippers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

