8-22-11: Mouse Pinch-55mm, 1HP-55mm, Coin Pinch, and Blobs


8-22-11, Monday

2-HAND MOUSE PINCH-55MM

-104X1     Felt heavier than 104lbs.  This has been the standard lately – the weight feeling heavier than it really is.  Not a good sign.  Blah, blah, blah.  And blah.

-140×1     Felt about 15lbs heavier than 140lbs.  My hands aren’t tired.  The gripper workout was done much earlier in the day.  Like over 12 hours before.  So I can’t blame it on that.

-166×1     Barely got this lift.  Pulled about 9″ – when the minimum pull height in a contest is about 8.5″. 

-172-MISS     Nothing at all.

-172-MISS     Uh, nothing.

-172-MISS     Wow.  Nothing at all.  Tore my thumb web pretty badly though.  How does that happen when I don’t even move the weight? 

I want to use about 65 different curse words to describe how much this workout sucked.  But you get the drift.

 

1-HAND MOUSE PINCH-55MM

-60.4×1-both hands     Pulled about 20″.  Well over the minimum 8.5″ limit.  Figured it couldn’t hurt to do more pinch since my 2-Hand Pinch session was terrible.  Torn thumb web didn’t bother me much on the 1-Hand Pinch because of the slightly different positioning I use compared to the 2-Hand Pinch setup.

-71×1-both hands     Pulled about 22″-righty and 13″ lefty.  Both were solid lifts.

-76×1-right hand, -MISS-left hand     Pulled about 16″ right hand.  Nothing lefty. 

-82-MISS-both hands     Pulled about 3″ righty and nothing lefty.  Pleased to get a little air actually.  Don’t remember what my max 1-Hand Mouse Pinch is offhand.  Have to look it up today.

-73.8×1-right hand, -MISS-left hand     Got about 6″ lefty.  Felt like my right forearm was going to snap in two.  So I stopped the 1-Hand Mouse Pinch part of this workout.

 

COIN PINCH

Only counted the weight of the added plates to my standard loading pin and the 2″ diameter washer that I used for the “coin”.  The width of the washer was 1.4mm and the diameter was 2″.  Also used 2 carabiners to hook it to my loading pin.  Weight was probably only 1.5lbs or thereabouts so it doesn’t matter much anyway if I just put the weight of the plates lifted.

-10.6×1-both hands     Full lifts-both hands.  Felt super easy.

-20.4×1-both hands.     Both full lifts.  Felt easy but I know this is one of those lifts where a few pounds suddenly makes it unliftable.

-30×1-both hands     Pulled about 13″-both hands.  Missed this weight first try righty. 

 

BLOBS

-50 York-pulled about 5″-right hand, -MISS-left hand     Was surprised it even left the ground considering my hands felt pretty tired from my cruddy pinch workout so far.

-50 York-PULL TO HIP-right hand!, -MISS-left hand     Very strong pull righty!  Quite happy with that since the rest of my pinch workout sucked.  Must mean that I’m finally building up some pinch strength-endurance.  That will come in handy for grip contests!

-50 York-pulled about 2″-right hand, -ASSISTED LIFT-left hand     Used my index finger placed under the edge of the Blob and gave it just enough assistance to get a full lift lefty.  Tried to resist the pull on the way down and get a slow negative.  Didn’t work out that way in real life…but I tried.

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in 1HP, blobs, Coin Pinch, Grip Contest, Grip Strength, Mouse Pinch and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

