9-1-11: Mouse Pinch-23mm and 52mm and EZ Bar Curl


9-1-11, Thursday

MOUSE PINCH-23MM

-58×1

-102×1

-127×1     Pulled about 16″.  Felt much heavier than the actual weight.  Might’ve had something to do with the fact that it was 97 degrees and I train in my uncooled (and unheated) garage. 

-137×1     Pulled about 16″.  This felt lighter than 127. 

-147-for 2 MISSES     On the first attempt I got about 2″ of air.  Second attempt I got nothing.  145 is my max and I don’t think that would’ve gone anywhere today – well, maybe a few inches. 

Big letdown on my thin pinch!  Thought I’d have a much stronger workout than this.  So I switched to 52mm to work on my 2-Hand Pinch for the Fall Grip Decathlon.

MOUSE PINCH 52MM

-170×1     Barely hit the minimum height!  Should’ve started around 160 but I felt like I was warmed up from my previous lifts on 23mm.  Feel okay pulling 170 though since 171 is the most I’ve lifted in competition so far.  Not terrible considering the heat and humidity. 

-175-MISS     Pulled about 2″. 

-175-MISS     Nothing!  This sucks.  Walked around a bit and slapped the chalk off while walking.

-175×1     Barely hit the minimum height again!  Had to review video a few times to make sure I hit the 8.5″ height and it was just barely there. 

Salvaged this pinch workout by switching to 52mm.  Not happy with my overall pinching strength as usual.  But it won’t improve if I don’t work on it. 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Adam Glass, Grip Contest, Grip Decathlon, Grip Strength, Mouse Pinch, Pinch Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

