9-14-11: Mouse Pinch-52mm and Blobs


9-14-11, Wednesday

2-HAND MOUSE PINCH-52MM

Used only chalk in this workout.  Left the Dry Hands off since it was only about 60 degrees by the time I started the pinch part of this grip workout.

-104×1     Pulled about 18″. 

-139×1     Pulled about 22″.     Pulling this high is going to benefit me quite a bit at the next grip contest.  Pulling the minimum height of 8.5″ is going to feel “easy” by comparison. 

-174×1     Pulled about 19″.     Super strong pull!  Possibly the strongest I’ve ever felt on this weight.  Felt like I could’ve pulled 20lbs more.  That thought turned out to be very wrong though.

-185-MISS     Pulled it 1″ off the floor.  Dammit!  Really thought I was going to set another PR at this pinch width so this bummed me out a bit.  Oh well, I hit 174lbs and that is about 4lbs over the opener I’m going to call for at the Fall Grip Decathlon in November. 

-185-MISS     Pulled it about 1″ again.  Just not strong enough today.  No excuses. 

-185-MISS     Nothing at all.  Called it quits when I looked down and saw a little flap of skin gone from my right thumb web.  That was stupid.  Tearing the skin there sometimes takes me a week to heal and that means a week that I’m not training my pinch optimally. 

BLOBS

-50 York-PULL TO HIP-right hand, -MISS-left hand     Very strong pull righty!  Believe it or not – this is the FIRST TIME that I’ve lifted the Blob to lockout on the first attempt in a workout.  Usually it takes 3 or 4 attempts before I get a full pull.  I have also NEVER lifted a Blob in a contest.  I came close to loading my 50 York at the May KC Qualifier II but missed it by a few inches on the load portion.  Obviously, the grip medley was after a bunch of other grip stuff so it’s not necessarily a lack of strength.  More a lack of strength endurance on the pinch stuff. 

-50 York-PULL TO HIP-right hand, -MISS-left hand     Another very strong pull righty.  I can’t remember the last time I got 2 full Blob pulls in a single workout.  That’s sad – but true. 

-50 York-PULL TO HIP-right hand, -MISS-left hand     Pulled it about 3″ lefty.  Yet another strong pull righty!  Pretty sure I have never got 3 full Blob pulls in a single workout.   

-50 York-MISS-both hands     Whoa!  Wasn’t expecting this.  I thought I’d get another full pull and maybe one more after that.  Didn’t expect the Blob to be glued to the ground.  It didn’t budge an inch righty.

-50 York-MISS-both hands     Well, it’s time to end the workout now.  No movement on either hand.

Only used chalk during this workout so I can’t figure out what made it so much stronger than the usual Blob workout for me.

This bodes well for my grip medley performance at the Fall Grip Decathlon. 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in blobs, Grip Contest, Grip Decathlon, Grip Strength, Mouse Pinch, Pinch Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

