9-20-11: MMS Grippers, Mouse Pinch, 2″ Vertical Bar, and Blobs


9-20-11, Tuesday

The plan for today’s workout was simply to work up to my planned Fall Grip Decathlon contest openers.  And then move to the next event.  I only did 3 of the scheduled events and a Blob lift to end the workout since the grip medley is going to count for a lot of the points – especially after everyone has done all the previous grip events and is getting worn out by then.

 

MMS GRIPPERS

-Trainer-x10-both hands

-#2×1-both hands

-137lb #3×1-both hands

-151lb #3×1-both hands     Slammed this righty – even faster than usual.  Knew it was going to be a pretty strong day by this performance.

-166lb RB300x1-right hand     Solid close.  But it felt a bit harder than usual.  Not the outcome I expected after my super fast slam on the previous #3.

-179lb Elite-x1-right hand     Smashed shut and held closed for 2 seconds!  That’s the result I was expecting before the hard-ish close on the 166lb RB300. 

I am definitely ready for the MMS Grippers event at the contest. 

 

2-HAND MOUSE PINCH

-104×1     Easy pull.

-130×1     Easy pull – over 18″.

-156×1     Moderately hard – but still pulled over 18″.

-172×1     Hard pull – but pulled it about 18″ anyway.  Knew that this was probably going to be my max but I wanted to try 3 more attempts to simulate a contest environment.

-177 for 3 MISSES     Got 6″ of air on the 1st pull.  7″ of air on the 2nd pull.  And nothing on the 3rd attempt at 177.

I am confident about hitting my 170lb opener at the contest.  The adrenaline – coupled with having the contest jitters will carry me through that weight with ease.  It’s the 180lbs that I’m a bit worried about. 

 

2″ VERTICAL BAR

-252×1-right hand, -MISS-left hand     What the hell?  I don’t remember the last time I’ve missed this weight lefty.  Pulled about 4″ righty.  I did jump right in without going for my usual 207lb warmup though so that must’ve been the culprit.

-276×1-both hands     Pulled about 5″ righty and 3″ lefty.  That’s more like it!  275lbs is my opener so I’m still confident about hitting that at the contest.  Even though it’ll be after MMS Grippers, 2-Hand Pinch, and Axle.

-307 for 3 MISSES     Not too surprising after doing grippers and pinch beforehand. 

Right on schedule with this.  I really think that 300lbs and a bit more will rise at the contest. 

 

BLOBS

-50 York-pulled to pocket-right hand, -MISS-left hand     After the previous grip stuff this was pretty surprising in a good way for me.  This should net me my first Blob lift in a contest. 

 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in 2" vbar, blobs, Grip Contest, Grip Decathlon, Grip Strength, Grippers, MMS Grippers, Mouse Pinch, Pinch Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

