9-29-11: Silverback Axle


9-29-11, Thursday

Got my new Silverback Axle today and wasted no time in chalking up and putting it to work!  First off – this is a superbly well made grip training tool.  It is painted black – with a slick surface.  That’s a good thing.  Because I’ll use it to train for the Axle (usually Apollon’s – from Ironmind Enterprises) event that is featured in a lot of grip contests lately.  And when I get my hands on another Axle it’ll feel easy compared to the slickness of the Silverback Axle. 

It’s an unseasoned bar of course.  But the difference between my pulls on the Silverback Axle compared to an Apollon’s Axle was at least 50lbs in this first workout! 

Now that’s what I call training carryover.  Any gains I make on this Axle should have a direct carryover to lifting more on the Apollon’s Axle in a contest. 

SILVERBACK AXLE

-117×1     Sumo pull.  Easy.  Felt the slickness of the bar even at this low weight.  Knew I’d have my work cut out for me.  And that’s a good thing!

-200×1     Sumo pull.  Easy still. 

-278×1     Sumo pull.  Felt very slippery even with chalked hands.  Knew that my regular addition (to the Apollon’s Axle or equivalent) of 50lbs more at this point would result in a failed lift.

-301×1     Sumo pull.  Very hard lift.  Barely held on to a quick lockout and then rushed the bar to the ground.  This is remarkable since 360lbs on the Apollon’s Axle is about as hard as this felt.  I like the slick paint already!  Would’ve barely passed as a legal lift in a contest.  The pause at the top was super short.

***APPLIED DRY HANDS***

-301×1     Sumo pull.  Got a 2-second hold at lockout.  Stronger lift but still remarkably slick in the hands.  

I love the Silverback Axle!  Diameter is 1 and 7/8″ so I thought it might be easier than the Apollon’s Axle.  I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was quite a bit harder – due to the slickness of the paint.  The Axle itself is very well made.  Solid.  Bomb-proof.  Easy on the eye.   

Two thumbs up for the Silverback Axle!   

Forgot to mention that I did the entire Silverback Axle deadlift workout while wearing my Converse.  I usually deadlift (near-max and max sets) with my shoes off.  I won’t be able to do that at the contest so it’s time to get used to wearing shoes and deadlifting.  Don’t want that to screw me up at the contest.

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Silverback Axle and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

