9-30-11: 2-Hand Pinch – Hold For Time


9-30-11, Friday

2-HAND PINCH – HOLD FOR TIME

-(2) 45s-hold for 20 seconds

-(2) 45s-hold for 12 seconds

-(2) 45s-hold for 15 seconds

A few things that make this quick workout harder than it at first appears on paper. 

  • These 45s are WIDE.  75mm width to be exact.  They’re the only pair of 45s I have that I’m able to pinch on so I had to make due.  The other 45s I have are either bumper plates or the kind with handles built in. 

  • These 45s have SHARP edges!  I mean very sharp.  That’s why I never use them for 2-Hand Pinch training. 

This event is the final event at the Fall Grip Decathlon though so it merits some training time on my part.  Thumb web was abraded significantly by the 3rd hold but it wasn’t tearing yet.  The next set probably would’ve torn it open on both thumb webs.

I expect the 45s we use at the contest to be about a 1/2″ narrower and much less sharp.  Which will make for a much longer pinch time of course.  Might use my (2) 35s next time I do this and see what the feels like.

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in 2HP, Pinch Training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

