10-3-11: MMS and 20mm Block Set Grippers


10-3-11, Monday

MMS GRIPPERS

Only wanted to work up to my contest opener.  6 weeks until the Fall Grip Decathlon.  Still about 12lbs heavier than I need to be in order to compete in the 199lb weight class though.  Gotta get on it!

-Trainer-x10-both hands

-110lb #2×1-both hands

-137lb #3×1-both hands     Slams on both hands.  Stronger than I have been lately lefty.  This gripper is almost never a struggle lefty – unless I’m having a terrible day.  But my closing speed lefty was very fast today. 

-151lb #3×1-right hand     Slammed shut.  Didn’t attempt lefty since I wanted to keep my left hand strong for setting the 179lb Elite. 

-166lb RB300x1-right hand     Felt a bit harder than usual.  Not worried since this happened in the last MMS workout too and I was just fine.

-179lb Elite-x1-right hand     Barely closed it.  Not happy with this so I took some rest and gave it another shot.

-179lb Elite-x1-right hand     Strong close this time!  No long pause like I’ve been doing lately but it was still a solid close so I’m fine with that.

Ended the workout on this high note.  I don’t have a gripper harder than 179lbs right now…well, that’s technically not true.  I do have a 282lb Atomgripz Hexa Band gripper.  Haha!  That won’t be closed by a human.  Ever.  At least not MMS. 

 

20MM BLOCK SET GRIPPERS

Didn’t expect any magic to happen since my top-end MMS strength wasn’t anything special today.  Wasn’t surprised in this workout.

I got my David Horne World of Grip 20mm/30mm aluminum block in the mail today and used it in this workout.  Love it!  And it’s going to get a lot of use. 

-Quad Band-Gun Metal (uncalibrated)-x2-right hand     Solid closes.  Crappy camera angle though and I am trying to get a lot better about that with the block set closes. 

-Quad Band-Gun Metal (uncalibrated)-x2-right hand     Strong closes.  Good video this time. 

-166lb RB300x1-right hand     Barely got this.  Losing strength quickly today.  Not a good thing! 

-167lb Super Elite-MISS-right hand     Missed by a sliver!  A piece of paper wouldn’t have fit between the handles. 

-167lb Super Elite-MISS-right hand     Missed by 3/16″.  Wow, terrible set and a terrible attempt. 

Workout is over as of now.  Enjoyed using David Horne’s 20mm block instead of a gripper handle like I’ve been doing for the past month or so.   

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Block Set Grippers, Grip Decathlon, Grip Strength, Grippers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

