10-10-11: MMS Grippers and 2″ Vertical Bar


10-10-11, Monday

MMS GRIPPERS

Not a great workout today – but not a bad one either.  Just wanted to work up to my Fall Grip Decathlon planned opener – my 179lb Elite – and I barely closed that today.

-Trainer-x10-both hands 

-#2×1-both hands

-137lb #3×1-both hands     Easy closes on both hands.

-151lb #3×1-both hands     Slammed righty and a strong close lefty.  Stopped the lefty gripper workout here so I could conserve some setting strength for my 179lb Elite attempt later.

-166lb RB300x1-right hand     Solid close. 

-179lb Elite-x1-right hand     Barely closed it.  Had to review the video just to make sure.  Wasn’t very happy with a barely close but I left it at that today.

-174lb Elite-x1-right hand     Solid close.  End of the gripper workout.  I felt like doing a lot more gripper attempts but realized that it would be pointless.

 

2″ VERTICAL BAR

-207×1-both hands     Full lifts-both hands.

-242×1-both hands     Full lifts-both hands.

-277×1-both hands     Full lifts-both hands.  Felt like I had another 20lbs on both hands in the tank.  I plan on testing that guess.

-303×1-right hand, -MISS-left hand     Barely got 2″ righty and pulled about 1″ lefty. 

-308-MISS-both hands     Almost came off the ground righty.  I may have floated it but it was impossible to tell on the video I took. 

-303-MISS-both hands     Dropped the weight and thought I might be able to move 303 again – I was wrong. 

-303-MISS-both hands     Actually got 1″ righty but nothing lefty.

-303-MISS-both hands     Got 1″ righty again and nothing lefty. 

-303-MISS-both hands     Nothing on either hand. 

Time to call this workout quits.  Not a bad result considering my weight was 210lbs today.  Want to make sure I keep the ability to pull at least 300lbs – while hopefully dropping down to the 199lb weight class for the Fall Grip Decathlon. 

Wish me luck!  I’ll need it.

 

 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in 2" vbar, Grip Decathlon, Grip Strength, Grippers, MMS Grippers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

