10-7-11: Silverback Axle – Double Overhand Deadlift


10-7-11, Friday

SILVERBACK AXLE – DOUBLE OVERHAND DEADLIFT

Did my 2nd workout with my Silverback Strength Equipment Axle and I’m even more of a fan than I was after the first workout.  Used Dry Hands and that is definitely a better grip feel than using chalk on the smooth paint surface. 

-117×1     Sumo.  Easy pull. 

-208×1     Sumo.  Another easy pull. 

-278×1     Sumo.  Moderately hard pull.  Felt heavier than 278lbs – that’s for sure.  Didn’t apply Dry Hands or use chalk so the bar was pretty slick. 

-308×1     Sumo.  Hard pull.  1-second hold at the top.  Applied a nickel-sized glob of Dry Hands and that helped quite a bit.  Could’ve held onto this weight for a while.

-328×1     Sumo.  Very hard pull.  My lower back unfortunately sent a message that it felt this weight and wasn’t all that appreciative of my efforts to work around it.  1-second hold at the top.  Had plenty of strength in my hands at this weight.  Felt like my back might’ve fallen to pieces if I had put 5 more pounds on the bar though. 

Did all my pulls wearing Converse.  Have to get used to wearing shoes during the contest.  I usually pull with no shoes on – which gives me a few extra pounds.  Not going to be able to do that at the Fall Grip Decathlon though so I’m adapting.

It was 80 degrees in the garage when I finished the workout.  Not a bad Axle workout. 

Again, I have to say that the Silverback Axle is my all-time favorite Axle!

I think this workout is telling me that my planned opener for the Fall Grip Decathlon – 325lbs – on the Axle event is just right.

My bodyweight was 211lbs during this workout.  Still trying to hit 199lbs in time to enter the 199lb and under class at the Fall Grip Decathlon.  4 weeks to go!

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Grip Decathlon, Silverback Axle and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

