10-13-11: MMS Grippers and 2-Hand Mouse Pinch-52mm


10-13-11, Thursday

MMS GRIPPERS

It’s only been 2 days since my last gripper workout – which was 30mm Block Set Grippers.  And 3 days since my last MMS Gripper workout.  Timing was just about right and I hit (barely) my target of closing my contest opener – the 179lb Elite.  Barely got it closed, but it would’ve counted in a contest – so that’s good enough for me.

-Trainer-x10-both hands

-#2×1-both hands

-137lb #3×1-both hands

-151lb #3×1-right hand     No attempt lefty so I can save my setting strength for the harder Elites. 

-159lb RB330N-x1-right hand     Solid close.  Felt easier than 159lbs. 

-165lb Super Elite-x1-right hand     Demolished this – super fast close.

-174lb Elite-x1-right hand     Solid close. 

-179lb Elite-x1-right hand     Barely closed it.  Had to review video just to make sure. 

I always prefer workouts where I’m slamming the grippers shut to ones where I’m just barely closing them.  But overall this was a good workout.  Very short in terms of volume done. 

 

2-HAND MOUSE PINCH-52MM

-104×1     Pulled about 18″. 

-139×1     Pulled about 18″.

-171×1     Pulled about 16″.  Felt very strong on this pull.  Consciously stopped the pull at 16″ – but could’ve pulled it higher if I wanted to.

-181×1     Pulled about 11″.  Barely held onto this one!  Grindingly slow pull.  Pretty proud of this – not because the weight is anything to write home about – but because I stuck with it even though it would’ve been easier to bail out after a few inches of holding onto it.  Slightly strained my right forearm flexor on this lift. 

-184-MISS     Floated it – but not enough height to judge how much I got on it. 

I had abraded thumb webs by the 4th pull.  Need to stick with this general warmup scheme though because any time I can pull 181lbs (which is my goal for the Fall Grip Decathlon) – it’s a pretty solid workout for me.

 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in 2HP, Grip Strength, Grippers, MMS Grippers, Mouse Pinch and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

