RIP Reuben The Ferret!


Reuben (AKA: “Reuby” – “Little Man” – “Weasel” – “Buddy”) is sorely missed! 

My wife and I said our goodbyes on November 4th.  I won’t get into much detail.  But the short story is that Reuben had been sick with adrenal disease for about 18 months.  He had surgery in August of 2010 and since then has been running strong and been active and happy until a few days before he passed away.   

We knew that literally every day he was happy and running around since his adrenal surgery last August was a day that we wouldn’t have had with him if he hadn’t had the surgery. 

Reuben was much, much more than just a ferret.  He was my (and my wife’s) last ferret.  He was a furry friend.  He was part of our pet family. 

He was more entertaining than a polished Vegas act.  He had more attitude than Zsa Zsa Gabor at a police convention.   

My wife and I spent time with him every day.  Playing with him.  Harassing him.  Spoiling him with treats and attention.  Loving him.  And enjoying the unique joy that comes from living with a ferret. 

In 8 years he’s been the catalyst for so much laughter that he’s probably extended my lifetime by 20 years.  Laughter is the best medicine after all.  Maybe we should’ve called him “Dr. Reuby.” 

He isn’t the only ferret that has given us great laughs over the years.  All of them have.  My wife has had ferrets for about 20 years on a continuous basis.  I have been around ferrets for about 10 years.  And they quickly became my favorite pet due to their attitude, personality, nasty (but funny) habits, and other assorted mannerisms. 

I will soon start writing about the other ferrets we’ve loved and lost over the years.  Most who read my blog won’t be interested.  I honestly don’t care.  Just skip these entries.  They are more to help soothe my sadness than to entertain others. 

Ferrets are so dear to me that if someone convinced me that ferrets go to Heaven I’d turn in my atheist card for a believer’s card right now.  Anyone care to persuade me?

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Ferret, Reuben The Ferret and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to RIP Reuben The Ferret!

  1. Jason says:

    I’m sorry to hear that Ben. I had a ferret about 20 years ago but had to give it away due to a move. She was one of the most entertaining houseguests I’ve ever had. I still remember her popping out from behind the couch with an arched back going on an attack of my shoes with the “Eh-eh-eh-eh-eh!” goofiness.

    Everytime I heard you write about Reuben or saw a picture I thought of all of that same nonsense going on in your home and how funny it would be.

    Take care for both you and your wife,

    Jason

    Like

  2. Aaron says:

    I’m very sorry for your loss Ben. The loss of a good friend is a hard thing to get through.

    – Aaron

    Like

Leave a Reply

