11-21-11: MMS Grippers – “Tim Struse Program”


11-21-11, Monday

Pretty much any member of the Gripboard knows who Tim Struse is.  And a lot of people who view gripper videos know who he is.  For those that don’t – he is one of the strongest guys on MMS Grippers currently.  He has repped a #4.  He has ROCKETED up the Mash Monster gripper list.  Yet in spite of all this achievement – he remains humble and helpful and generous with his time and knowledge. 

He has shared his gripper workout and there are a number of guys already putting it to work.  I’m jumping on the bandwagon since it’s a good time for it.  My right forearm has been recently re-tweaked so it has lowered my max righty.  This is as good a time for a routine change as any.  I expect to increase my power quite a bit.  That might not translate into a massive increase in a 1-rep max on MMS grippers.  But it sure won’t hurt me in the overall gripper strength department.

Speed Day (1st workout of a 3-times per week, 6-week program)

Warmup:

-Trainer-x3-both hands     Focused on slamming the handles shut as fast as possible on both hands.  Not too hard to do with a Trainer.  Going to be a lot harder when the gripper gets closer to my max though.

-110lb #2×3-both hands     Even at this low level of a gripper – my lack of speed was very noticeable righty.  Lefty is faster – even though my left hand 1-rep max is quite a bit lower currently than my right.

Workout:

-129lb Atomgripz Mirror Finish Triple Band for 5 sets of 3 reps-right hand

-121lb GNC200 for 5 sets of 3 reps-left hand

My speed was abysmal righty.  Questionable lefty.  But surprisingly slow righty for a gripper that’s about 50lbs below my current (forearm tweaked-adjusted) max righty.  This will be very good for me.  Tried to slam each rep as quickly as possible on every set. 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Grip Strength, Grippers, MMS Grippers, Tim Struse Program and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

