12-7-11: 1-Hand Mouse Pinch-47mm


12-7-11, Wednesday

1-HAND MOUSE PINCH-47MM

-38.4×1-both hands     Pulled over 18″.

-64.4-MISS-both hands     Missed this totally.  No movement at all.  Very surprised at this. 

-64.4-MISS-both hands     Missed again!

 -49×1-both hands     Pulled about 18″.  Decided to work my way up to a max and maybe I can figure out what’s going on with this terrible 1-Hand Pinch workout. 

-59.2×1-both hands     Pulled about 16″.  Hard pull. 

-61.6-MISS-both hands     Pulled about 1″-both hands.  Surface was very slick.  It was cold outside – about 40 degrees so I figured this had a bit to do with the surface just feeling slick no matter what I did to my hands.  So I chalked the surface again and spent some time trying to work it in to get it to stick in the cold temperature.

-61.6×1-both hands     Pulled about 17″.  Chalked the Mouse Pinch and that made a big difference.  This is not something that I do very often because in a warmer temperature it seems to make the surface slicker – rather than tackier. 

-66.8×1-both hands     Pulled about 15″-right hand and 10″-left hand.  Very close to max on both hands.  This will probably be my max lefty since it was barely over the 8.5″ minimum pull height.

-70.2×1-right hand, -MISS-left hand     Pulled about 13″-right hand.  Got about 2″ lefty.  The weight totally ripped out of my left hand at the 2″ mark too so it wasn’t even close. 

-71.4×1-right hand, -MISS-left hand     Nothing at all lefty.  Pulled about 11″-right hand. 

Only slight skin abrasion on the thumb webs at the end of the workout.  Don’t like how the workout started but it ended pretty well all things considered. 

Weird that I wasn’t able to pull more since 47mm tends to suit my hands on 2-Hand Pinch at least.  Didn’t feel strong on 1-Hand Pinch though – which I find interesting for several reasons. 

About 5 pounds difference between lefty and righty in this workout.  More than on the other 1-Hand Pinch width I see… 

Bodyweight was 210 for this workout. 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in 1HP, Grip Strength, Mouse Pinch and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

