12-9-11: Rolling Thunder and Bearhug Deadlift


12-9-11, Friday

ROLLING THUNDER

-96×1-both hands

-166×1-both hands     Applied a quarter-sized glob of Dry Hands for this set.  Temperature was about 35 degrees in the garage today.  Dry Hands isn’t the best choice for this particular temp.  The “water trick” is better suited to this temp…

-192×1-right hand, -MISS-left hand     Used Dry Hands again.  Got about 1″ lefty.  Solid pull righty though.

-203-MISS-both hands     Did get about 3″ righty though.  Dry Hands again. 

-203-MISS-both hands     Didn’t rest very long between these attempts and it didn’t help things much.

-203×1-right hand, -MISS-left hand     Used the “water trick” and got a solid lift righty.  No movement lefty though.

-192×1-both hands     Solid pulls-both hands.  No Dry Hands or “water trick” used on this last set and it was the strongest of all the sets.  No chalk either of course.  Chalk makes the Rolling Thunder handle slick.

Tested for a max and it ended up being 203lbs righty and 192lbs lefty.  Next workout I won’t use Dry Hands or the “water trick.” 

BEARHUG DEADLIFT

-206×1     Way harder than I thought it would be.  I seemed to think I had tried this lift years back…maybe I have…but this felt different than I remember.  That might be explained simply by the fact that my back was healthier before December of 2010 – when I had my disc injury. 

-222-MISS     Weight was not balanced and I didn’t even clear it off the floor since it felt like I was going to possibly injure my back. 

-222×1     Solid lift.  Hard, but pulled plenty high. 

Had to center the weights on the FBBC 2″ vbar – which I used as the loading bar – the balance was what killed me on the first try at 222lbs. 

Will eventually go much higher I’m sure – but first I’m going to make sure my back can take it before getting crazy with this lift.  Don’t like the position that it puts my back in while lifting. 

Bodyweight was 211 for this workout.

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Bearhug Deadlift, Grip Strength, Rolling Thunder and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 12-9-11: Rolling Thunder and Bearhug Deadlift

  1. I want to try the bear hug deadlift. I’m just not sure how I’m going to set it up. Maybe one end of an oly bar, but that will make the balance all weird. Kind of like a bear hug tbar lift. hmmmm.

    Like

    • bencrush says:

      Haha, that’s a funny way to label it Mike! I did some 2HP training years ago (think I read about it on David Horne’s info somewhere) with the end of an Olympic bar. Never thought about bearhug deadlifting it though. That might make it a bit awkward, but as long as you faced toward the end of the bar that you load up it might be a great way to train it if you don’t have a long enough center bar that fits the plates.

      Like

Leave a Reply

