12-12-11: Bearhug Deadlift and Rolling Thunder


12-12-11, Monday

BEARHUG DEADLIFT

-206×1     Felt pretty hard on my back.  The loading bar was well above knee height at the top of my pull.

-261-for 3 MISSES     All three times my back twinged right when it was about to clear the floor.  Each successive attempt I thought I could shut down my startle response to that twinge – but I just couldn’t do it.  Didn’t injure myself so it was no big deal.  I’d rather not injure myself obviously…so I better do some lighter reps next time.

 

ROLLING THUNDER

-181 for 7 reps in 60 seconds-right hand     PR by 2 reps in 60 seconds!  Very pleased with the increase.  Did 3 consecutive reps to start it off.  Then a double after a short rest.  Then 2 singles to finish it off.  Think I had 4 more seconds on the clock when I finished my last rep.  I wouldn’t have been able to squeak another rep out though so the time wasn’t actually wasted.

-181 for 3 reps in 60 seconds-left hand     Missed my previous best by 2 reps.  Not good.

-192×1-right hand, -MISS-left hand     Pulled about 9″ righty and only 1″ lefty.  Felt hard after the rep work.  Rested about 5 minutes between the reps with 181 and probably should’ve waited over 10 minutes.

-204-MISS-both hands     Nothing at all on either hand.  Not surprised since 192 felt pretty heavy.

-194×1-right hand     Pulled about 8″.  For reference, @ 6″ is a “good” pull on the Rolling Thunder for my particular setup.

-181×1-left hand     Pulled about 10″.  Strong pull.

Used the water trick on all these sets.  Excellent workout!  Didn’t expect to beat my rep PR righty and I sure didn’t expect my left hand to be so weak on reps today.  Another step closer to my goal of 10 reps in 60 seconds with 181!

 

 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Bearhug Deadlift, Grip Strength, Rolling Thunder and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

