Sore Hamstrings!


Yesterday’s workout involved several types of deadlift.  The weight wasn’t high on any of them – since they’re grip events that I’m training for the upcoming USAWA grip contest – but my hamstrings are feeling it today.

1-5-11, Thursday

INDEX FINGERS DEADLIFT

ONE-HAND THUMBLESS-GRIP DEADLIFT

ONE HAND AXLE DEADLIFT

LOADABLE INCH DUMBBELL DEADLIFT

The entire workout was mediocre at best poundage-wise.  I understand why though and it doesn’t bother me.  At the start of the new year I began doing more cardio, kettlebells, and more “beach workouts.”  So at this point I’m rescinding my contest goals for the USAWA grip contest.  And leaving them blank.  Whatever happens is going to be fine with me.  I’m still training but at reduced frequency and intensity on grip.  And enjoying adding some variety into my training again.

Bodyweight was 214lbs this morning.  On track to hit 209lbs by the contest on February 11th at least.  Even that isn’t necessarily a “goal” – if I make that weight I do.  If I don’t, then I don’t.  No harm done.

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Axle, Grip Strength, Inch Dumbbell Training, Index Fingers Deadlift, Thumbless-Grip Deadlift and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

