Rolling Thunder – Paused Lifts


Didn’t have a lot of time to do a long workout yesterday since I was doing a lot of house cleaning and generally trying to stay busy to keep my mind off my father’s terminal prognosis. 

Chose Rolling Thunder because it doesn’t aggravate my forearm tweak (right arm) and it’s pleasant to train.  Did some light kettlebell work before that but it wasn’t taxing on the grip, mostly just Goblet Squats and Halos. 

ROLLING THUNDER

-166×1-both hands     Paused at the top for a second, just like I would in a contest setting. 

-181×1-both hands     Paused at the top again.  Felt strong both hands.  A bit stronger righty than lefty, which is the usual. 

-192×1-right hand, -MISS-left hand     Strong lift righty, with a pause at the top.  Got only 2″ of air lefty. 

Obviously a very short workout.  My wife came home after the set with 192 and I ended the workout.  Could’ve done a lot more sub-maximal pulls but no reason since I’m not training for a grip contest anymore. 

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Rolling Thunder and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rolling Thunder – Paused Lifts

  1. Jason says:

    I’m sorry to hear that Ben. I sincerely wish you and your family well.

    Like

  2. Kevin Knapp says:

    Thoughts are with you and your family Ben. As always, nice pulls on the RT!

    Like

  3. bencrush says:

    Thanks guys! Hard to stay positive. I know everyone goes through it but it sure doesn’t make it easier.

    Like

Leave a Reply

