Adding running into the fitness mix


I’ve been running after work a few times with some of my coworkers and it’s pretty enjoyable since we have the perfect blend of camaraderie and competitiveness.  More camaraderie than competitive is good for me at this stage in my lagging cardio ability though. 

Ran this morning and got a pretty painful side stitch but kept going when I really wanted to stop.  We did 5 minutes running and 3 minutes walking until 2 miles was covered.  Cut about 4 minutes off my time from last week doing the same protocol so things are looking up pretty quickly. 

Got some new lightweight New Balance and cut 70 seconds off my best 2012 mile time a few days ago!  Pretty happy about that.  The shoes are so lightweight that I won’t be wearing them very often.  Probably only to max out in the 1 mile run.  My feet are slightly bruised feeling today and it’s because there’s not nearly as much padding as I’m used to with my bulkier New Balance shoes that I’m used to.

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Running/Jogging and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

