Running Updates


On Thursday, April 26th, I broke my 2012 best 1/4 mile time by 4 seconds.  Actually, it was 4 seconds faster than my fastest time (very slow by the way) since Police Academy.  Which isn’t saying much since I really haven’t ran much since then and that was 11 years ago.  And I was 185lbs when I started the Academy in June of 2001.  I’m running 215lbs this past few weeks.  So 30lbs heavier. 

I wore my new lightweight New Balance shoes.  Walked 1/4 mile to warmup for the first 1/4 mile run.  Did my 1/4 mile run then walked 1/2 mile.  Ran another 1/4 mile and it was 23 seconds faster than my first 1/4 mile.  Walked 1 mile to cooldown.

On Friday, April 27th, I broke my 2012 best 2-mile time by 34 seconds.  I’ve been having a terrible time trying to gauge my running speed “out of the chute” so I kept very close tabs on my RunKeeper program on my phone and set a timer to remind me to check my speed/distance every 1/4 mile to make sure I was on target to at least get close to my best 2-mile time this year.  I’ve only run it 3 times.  Oh, I also ran the entire 2 miles while breathing only through my nose.  Which was very hard for me!  It was torture for the last 1/4 mile.  I wanted desperately to open my mouth and gasp all the way to the finish line.  But I held off and kept telling myself I had already made it that far and not to ruin it in the last few minutes.  For this run I wore an older pair of New Balance that still have a lot of life in them.  Not the ones I usually wear – which is why I keep track in my notes.  For what it’s worth.

About bencrush

42-year old multiple USAWA record holder who enjoys grip strength training, bending steel, and sharing my knowledge of training in both areas.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Running/Jogging and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running Updates

  1. Drew says:

    Hey Ben, what’s your goal with running? Is it GPP or do you want to race?

    Like

    • bencrush says:

      Strictly GPP Drew. No race or really time goals even though I list them when I achieve them. I’m a compulsive stats taker so it’s in my blood – even when it’s not a competitive situation.

      Like

Leave a Reply

